Most Anticipated 2024 Historical Fiction Books

Since rediscovering my love of reading I've been focused on consuming as many historical fiction books as I can. As a result, I read a combination of backlist, recently published, and yet-to-be-published historical novels. This helps me find new favorite books but also ensures I'm able to be a resource to other historical fiction fans in search of the latest and greatest historical fiction novels. And I can already tell that 2024 will be a banner year in the historical fiction genre! With new books from beloved authors like Kristin Hannah and Kate Quinn on the horizon, it's hard not to get excited. Here are my most highly anticipated 2024 historical fiction books in no particular order! Which one are you most excited to read?

This blog is reader-supported. At no cost to you, I earn a small commission from affiliate links used in this post. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, visit my legal page.

2024 historical fiction books

The Women

The latest historical fiction from master storyteller, Kristin Hannah, follows a young nurse in the Army Nurse Corps during the Vietnam War as she struggles to make sense of the world around her. Easily the most anticipated of all 2024 historical fiction books!

Out February 15, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

Unsinkable

Highly anticipated new fiction from Jenni Walsh takes us aboard the infamous Titanic where we meet one of two brave female MCs. And like her last book, Call of the Wrens, Unsinkable is a dual timeline WWI & WWII novel.

Out January 9, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

The Phoenix Crown

Authors Kate Quinn and Janie Chang have partnered to write one of 2024's most anticipated new historical fiction novels. Set in 1910's Paris, the story centers around an unforgettable evening and a centuries-old vendetta.

Out February 13, 2024

The Briar Club

The Briar Club

Kate Quinn is back with another book about the power of female friendships in this 1950s tale of an unusual women's boarding house in McCarthy Era Washington DC. William Morrow Books describes the book as "an intimate and thrilling novel of secrets and loyalty put to the test."

Out July 9, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

The Song of the Huntress

Perfect for fans of Circe, Song of the Huntress is "a dark, feminist fantasy set amidst the legends and beauty of ancient Britain." This is the second novel by award-winning novelist, Lucy Holland.

Out March 21, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

Christmas with the Queen

Authors Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb are teaming up for another holiday historical fiction focused on the early years of Elizabeth II's reign. 

Out Autumn 2024

2024 historical fiction books

Queens of London

Histfic fan favorite Heather Webb is putting her spin on the infamous Alice Diamond and her female gang of thieves who ruled the streets of post-WWII London. Forced to choose between a life of crime or life in ration lines, Alice, or "Diamond Annie," makes a name for herself in the East End in this new novel.

Out February 6, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

Diva

Daisy Goodwin is back with the scandalous story of Maria Callas, one of the most celebrated opera singers of the 20th century who falls head over heels in love with Greek shipping tycoon, Aristotle Onassis, only to be left in the lurch when he announces his betrothal to none other than Jacqueline Kennedy.

Out January 23, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

The Divorcees

Rowan Beaird's debut novel, described as a "dazzling exploration of female friendship, desire, and freedom," is the story of two unlikely friends who meet at one of Reno's best divorce ranches in the 1950s heyday of the six-week divorce residency.

Out March 19, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

All Our Yesterdays

All Our Yesterdays is a powerful debut novel from newcomer, Joel Morris, about "the ambition, power, and fate that define one of literature’s most notorious figures: Lady Macbeth."

Out March 12, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

The Beautiful People

Promised to be full of glitz and glamour, the latest from Michelle Gable follows a young assistant to a famous photographer as she gets swept up in the lifestyle of rich, famous, and beautiful people in 1960s Hollywood.

Out April 16, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

Sisters of Belfast

Melanie Maure's debut novel about orphaned twins, Aelish and Isabel McGuire, spans decades and promises to break hearts. Described as a "deeply moving novel about survival and the enduring power of sisterhood," this one is sure to be a page-turner.

Out February 27, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

The Outlaw Noble Salt

Beloved author Amy Harmon is back with an outlaw romance sure to capture the hearts of many. Can the infamous outlaw Butch Cassidy go straight for the love of the right woman?

Out April 9, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

We are Only Ghosts

Playwright and author Jeffrey Richards is back with a new queer historical fiction this year. We Are Only Ghosts is the story of a young Jewish man's passionate, yet tortured love affair with a Nazi soldier.

Out February 20, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

When the Jessamine Grows

Donna Everhart's latest Southern historical fiction tells the story of one woman's determination to open her North Carolina to Civil War soldiers from both sides of the Mason-Dixon line.

Out January 23, 2024

81IjkwnICRL._SL1500_

The Seventh Veil of Salome

Beloved author Silvia Moreno-Garcia is set to publish another Old Hollywood novel next year, though not much information is available yet. Stay tuned for more info!

Out July 16, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

In the Shadow of the Greenbrier

This multigenerational story spans nearly a century and tells the story of one Jewish family who immigrates to America and eventually oversees a West Virginia resort with a dark history. Reviewers describe it as well-written and propulsive.

Out March 12, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

The Uncharted Flight of Olivia West

Sara Ackerman is back with another action-packed dual-timeline historical fiction featuring a ground-breaking female aviator and the young woman who uncovers her true story decades later.

Out February 6, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

The Garden

Magic abounds in this women's historical fiction about a group of pregnant women desperate to harness the power of a secret garden. With elements of magical realism and horror, this new historical novel is likely going to be controversial.

Out April 9, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

All We Were Promised

Three Black women work together in pre-Civil War Philadelphia to expose injustice and fight for freedom in this debut book from BIPOC historical fiction author, Ashton Lattimore.

Out April 2, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

The Trouble with You

Post-WWII New York is the scene of this new women's historical fiction novel about a young woman learning to forge her own path against incredible odds.

Out February 20, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

The Berlin Letters

Katherine Reay is back with more Cold War-era historical fiction, this time transporting readers to the late 1980s Berlin just before the fall of the Berlin Wall.

Out March 5, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

A Wild and Heavenly Place

"An Ode to the Pacific Northwest" will be music to the ears of American West historical fiction fans. A Wild and Heavenly Place promises to be Robin Oliveira's greatest work yet.

Out February 13, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

The Road from Belhaven

Margot Livesey's latest novel combines historical fiction and magical realism. Set in late 19th century Scotland, it's a coming-of-age story of a young girl with the ability to see into the future

Out February 6, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

Can't We Be Friends

Denny Bryce and Eliza Knight join forces to bring us the story of the unlikely friendship of two queens of the stage and screen: Ella Fitzgerald and Marilyn Monroe.

Out March 5, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

The Book of Thorns

Hester Fox is back with more gothic historical fiction with The Book of Thorns. Set during the Napoleonic Wars, this sister story is full of magic and mystery.

Out April 2, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

Picasso's Lovers

Uncover the truth about the many women known to orbit Pablo Picasso in this new dual-timeline historical fiction. A young journalist discovers her own truth while investigating the lives of Picasso's muses.

Out January 23, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

The Lesser Stars

The latest from author Susanna Kearsely is sure to be a favorite of magical realism fans. Based in 17th Century England, The Lesser Stars, has hints of witchcraft and mysterious powers. Simon and Schuster describe the novel as "a story of treachery, betrayal and love."

Out August 1, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

The Painter's Daughters

Watch out for this debut historical fiction from author Emily Howe! Described as "A story of love, madness, sisterly devotion, and control," it is the story of the daughters of celebrated English artist Thomas Gainsborough.

Out February 27, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

The Lost Book of Bonn

Historical fiction author Brianna Labuskes is back with a brand new WWII novel about a young woman sent to Germany to help the Monuments Men catalog priceless literature. While there, she uncovers a heartwrenching tale of two sisters forever impacted by war.

Out March 19, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

Becoming Madam Secretary

A historical fiction book about the first female cabinet secretary in the US: yes, please!!! Based on the true story of Frances Perkins, Stephanie Dray's new book explores the role of this groundbreaking political pioneer.

Out March 12, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

The Woman with No Name

Books with older female characters are not easy to find, particularly WWII books with older female characters. This new WWII resistance story is already getting rave reviews.

Out March 12, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

The Daughters of Shandong

The debut novel from lawyer/women's rights specialist Eve Chung features the story of a family of women desperate to escape China as communism sweeps through the country. A fresh AAPI/BIPOC voice in historical fiction is always welcome!

Out May 7, 2024

2024 historical fiction books

The Disappearance Of Astrid Bricard

Natasha Lester is back with another fashion-forward historical fiction. With multiple timelines and intergenerational storylines, this one promises to be a journey we won't soon forget!

Out January 30, 2024

Stay Tuned for More 2024 Historical Fiction Books

If you love historical fiction as much as I do then be sure to bookmark or save this page, my friend! I'll be adding more upcoming historical fiction releases throughout the year as updates are available. It's the perfect way to stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in the world of historical novels! Cheers to the best new 2024 historical fiction books!

About Carlie

Greetings reader! Welcome to my little bookish corner of the web! I hope you enjoy my reviews and that you'll stick around. Be sure to visit my About Me page to learn more about me and to sign up for email alerts!

Leave a Comment